The Fisk Honors Debate Team Scores First Place in New Orleans Competition

Members of the Fisk University W.E.B. DuBois Honors Program ended a successful trip to New Orleans Nov. 6-9, 2019 after participating in the National Association of African American Honors Programs Conference. The Fisk honors debate team took first place in their competition, and Vice Provost for Student Success Dr. Kenneth E. Jones became president of the organization for 2019-20. Fisk University Debate team  

The debate team, which was only just established during the fall 2019 semester, was strongest among the seven HBCU participants. Before dueling to a win in the finals against host institution, Southern University of Baton Rouge, Fisk had already argued successfully against Florida A&M University and perineal debate powers Miles College, Birmingham, Alabama. Southern had outlasted Morgan State University and Hampton University before going up against Fisk. 

Debating for Fisk were sophomores Chidera Okeke and Paul Springer, Jr., and senior, Rammon Green. Alternates were Sonia Okekenwa, Bria Savoy, and Chideraa Akapama. Students competing in poster and oral research presentation competitions were Chisom Okwar, Imani Campbell, Tatyana Hayley, and Bria Savoy. Paul Springer, Jr. also competed in the oratorical contest. Legendary HCASC quiz bowl coach Dr. Stafford Cargill fielded a quiz bowl team in that competition from among the Fisk University Honors participants.Fisk NAAAHP attendees

Dr. Jones was elevated to the presidency of the organization as stipulated by its constitution and bylaws after serving as Vice President for one year. Consequently, the 2020 NAAAHP conference is expected to return to Nashville, Tennessee with Fisk University serving as next year’s host.

Established in 1990, the National Association of African American Honors Programs is an organization whose mission is to address the specific needs of honors education for students enrolled at historically black colleges and universities throughout the United States. There are currently over 60 HBCU member institution